Managing users

Activating and deactivating users

In Asset, users can be either activated or deactivated. When a user is active, they have the ability to log in, while deactivated users cannot access the application. Deactivating users is essential for preventing unauthorized access from individuals who no longer require access.

Deactivating a user can be accomplished in the following ways:

  • Manual deactivation: This can be done by the systems administrator* or the user manager via the user's page.
  • Automatic deactivation: Users can be automatically deactivated under certain conditions:

    • If the user enters an incorrect password three times.

    • If the expiration date of the user is reached.

To (re)activate a user, the systems administrator or user manager should be contacted for assistance. They have the authority to reactivate users as needed.

image-20240315-064956.png

Info

*A systems administrator is any user that has the ‘Administrator’ system group assigned. See Authorizing users for more details on authorizations

Reset password

The text below only applies if the user does not log in via SSO Creating users

Forgot password:

Users can use the 'Forgot password' option on the login screen if they forget their password. The user needs to provide their username and corresponding email address. Subsequently, an email with instructions to set a new password will be sent to the user. The email will contain a verification token which must be provided in the 'Forgot password' screen to specify a new password.

image-20240315-065031.png

Manual reset by user:

If the user is logged in, they can manually change their password through the user settings. By selecting the 'Change username/password' button on the user page, the user can enter their current password and then set a new password (confirming it twice).

Manual reset by a systems administrator or user manager:

The systems administrator or user manager also has the capability to provide a new password to a user. By selecting the ‘Change username/password' button on the users’ page, they can choose the 'Email new password to user' option. This action triggers an email to the user containing a newly generated password.

image-20240315-065057.pngimage-20240315-065134.png

Switching to a specific user

A systems administrator has the capability to switch to a specific user. This action can be performed via the user page. To switch to a specific user, click on the 'Switch to the currently displayed user' button.

This feature is commonly used for testing purposes and to verify if the user has the correct access rights, among other reasons.

When the systems administrator switches to a particular user and performs actions or tasks, the log will always display the details of the system administrator, rather than the user to whom the systems administrator has switched.

To switch back to the administrator user, go to the user profile again (as the user) and use ‘Switch to another user’ function to be able to select the administrator user again.

image-20240315-065235.png

Archiving

If a user no longer requires access to the application, the user can be archived by either the system administrator or the user manager.

Archiving a user frees up their user license, making it available to assign to a new user.

Once archived, a user cannot be selected in various selection fields anymore. However, the linked contact associated with the archived user will still be displayed in all relevant reports containing historical data.

Anonymizing

For further details on anonymizing data, please refer to: Anonymizing data

Tasks

Tasks are specific steps or actions within workflows that users must execute, such as submitting a request or approving a work order.

To view tasks assigned to a particular user, navigate to the user's page and click on the 'Tasks' button. This will display all active tasks assigned to that user. You can use filters to narrow down the displayed tasks by specifying criteria such as a specific object or a certain time period.

Workflow tasks are automatically generated for relevant users when the task becomes active. However, if a new user is created and a user profile is assigned, they will not receive tasks automatically for all active workflows based on their system groups.

To generate tasks for a new user based on their system groups, click the 'Refresh tasks' button on the user's page. This will ensure that tasks are generated for all active workflows associated with the user's assigned system groups.

image-20240315-065329.png

Partner users

Partner users are also users within the application (but have the ‘Partner user’ setting on the user page set to yes) specifically designated for implementation consultants from Spacewell or partners. Unlike regular users, these partner users do not occupy a user license provided for the customer.

For more detailed information about partner users, please visit: Partner users (Note: access restricted to Spacewell employees)